013110 – Locked



[click versions for larger image]
So the piece “locked” is completed. The piece consists of the main part which is the heart and then the 8 keys. Each of the nine pieces will be framed separately – but it is all one piece. This piece is outside of my normal comfort zone – but I enjoyed working on it. The piece will be displayed at an upcoming show called “Lust” which will be held in 3 gallert spaces in the Hyattsville Arts District: Design Studio Art Gallery, artdc Gallery, Cheryl Edwards studio. (more info on facebook)

The heart is roughly 9″ x 12″ and will be in a 16″ x 20″ frame, the keys are each roughly 3″ x 5″ and will all be in a 5″ x 7″ frame. The work is $650 for all 9 parts.

–UPDATE 030610 – Posting this for this week’s Illustration Friday theme of “Brave”. I am posting this because I had a very brave friend who in 2009 had open heart surgery. He has healed wonderfully!!!!!

5 thoughts on “013110 – Locked

  1. This is amazing! I love the detail you’ve put into the heart, and I just want to try all those keys and see which one fits :) Fabulous concept beautifully executed.

  2. Mike Baker says:

    I’ve been looking at your work for some time now, whenever I visit my brother in the studio you share with him. Yesterday I was doing some more focused admiring, complete with Tom’s enthusiastic narrative of your process. I’m certainly impressed.

    I like the concept of extending a work beyond it’s expected boundaries (I have several tryptiichs on my walls — I probably misspelled the word), especially when it tells a story or makes a point.

    Which (if any) of the keys fit? Are there a finite number of keys available? Once we’ve used the keys in our search for the right person, is that it? At a minimum it would appear we’d better be careful with our key distribution, lest we run out by being too free with them before we’ve found the one that fits.

Leave a Reply

